HYDRO Nepal Excellence Award


A CSR initiative of MEN

HYDRO Nepal Excellence Award is established to honor a person or institution for their outstanding contribution in the field of water, energy and/ or the environment. A three member Evaluation and Selection Committee reviews, selects and decides the recipient of the award.

Recipients of Excellence Award:

  • Mr. Rajendra P Thanju, Founder and Assocaite Editor of HYDRO Nepal Journal, receiving India Power Award, 2009 from Energy Minister of India Mr.-Bharat Singh Solanki in New Delhi, India
  • Mr. Gyanendra L Pradhan- Receiving HYDRO Nepal Excellence Award, 2010
  • Mr. Gyanendra L Pradhan- Receiving HYDRO Nepal Excellence Award, 2010
  • Late- Jeewan P Thanju, Editor in Chief of HYDRO Nepal Journal addressing the HYDRO Nepal Excellence Award, 2013 Distribution Ceremony
  • HYDRO Nepal Excellence Award Trophy and Letter of Appreciation
  • First HYDRO Nepal Excellence Award, 2008 to Mr. Bikash Thapa
  • Fifth HYDRO Nepal Excellence Award, 2013 to IPPAN

The first HYDRO Nepal Excellence Award in Water Resources for the year 2008 was conferred upon Mr. Bikash Thapa of Kantipur Publications for his outstanding contributions in the field of Water Resources in Nepal.Mr. Thapa is a well-known journalist of Nepal.

HYDRO Nepal Excellence Award in Energy (Hydropower) for the year 2009 was conferred upon Dr. Dambar B Nepali for his outstanding contribution in presenting a new and successful model of hydropower development in Public Private Partnership form and successful completion of the Chilime Hydropower Project of 22.1 MW capacity.

HYDRO Nepal Excellence Award in Energy (Hydropower) for the year 2010 was conferred upon Er. Gyanendra L Pradhan for his outstanding performance and untiring, tenacious and entrepreneurial efforts in hydropower and energy development in Nepal

HYDRO Nepal Excellence Award in Energy (Hydropower) for the year 2011 was conferred upon Honorable Gokarna Bista, Minister for Energy, Government of Nepal for his outstanding initiation and determined efforts for hydropower development and energy efficiency in Nepal. The award was conferred upon Mr. Bista by Dr. Baburam Bhattarai, Vice president of UCPN (Maoist).

HYDRO Nepal Excellence Award for the year 2013was conferred upon Independent Power Producers’ Association, Nepal (IPPAN) for its outstanding and long-running contribution to fostering a positive environment for hydropower development in Nepal amidst a function organized by Media for Energy Nepal Pvt. Ltd. in Kathmandu. Mr. Bishwa Prakash Pandit, Secretary, Ministry of Energy, Government of Nepal was the Chief Guest of the program.

Over the years, IPPAN has strongly voiced the concerns of the private hydropower developers for the overall development of the power sector. IPPAN is an autonomous, non-profit, non-governmental organization working in the area of hydropower development in Nepal.

The HYDRO Nepal – Excellence Award, 2073 BS is conferred upon to Mr. Kul Man Ghising, Managing Director, Nepal Electricity Authority in recognition to his untiring efforts and outstanding performances in energy management for removing and minimizing the load shedding in Nepal with his technical expertise and management capability.

The HYDRO Nepal – Life Time Achievement Award, 2073 BS is conferred upon to Dr. Hari Man Shrestha, Water Resources Expert, in recognition to his legendary contribution toward the establishment of Nepal’s theoretical hydropower potential at 83,000 megawatts.

Fifty years on, that figure still stands as the ‘Mantra’ on Nepal’s hydropower potential.